Our Better Angels: Seven Simple Virtues That Will Change Your Life and the World

Our Better Angels: Seven Simple Virtues That Will Change Your Life and the World

Author: Jonathan Reckford

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 240

ISBN: 9781250237798

Publisher: St. Martin's Essentials

Release Date: October 08, 2019

Description du Livre

For readers of Make Your Bed, a book about real-life virtues in action to inspire readers--from Habitat for Humanity, one of the world’s most admired organizations.

In this first-ever book for adults from Habitat for Humanity, CEO Jonathan Reckford shares moving and inspiring stories of ordinary people whose lives have been changed by working together to help one another. And he shows what we can all learn from these everyday heroes.

Having witnessed people beat back the storms of life, Reckford came to see how we can all find our better selves by tapping into seven old-fashioned virtues—kindness, generosity, community, empowerment, respect, joy, and service. And he came to see how the strength gained from these virtues can help each of us build our best selves in ways that impact all areas of our lives—from our careers to our families, from how we behave in our communities to how we see the world.

With a separate chapter devoted to each of these seven virtues, Reckford introduces us to remarkable people Habitat has served, like Jed, whose family received a Habitat home and who could barely wait to donate it back Habitat to help others in need. And we also meet volunteers like Vic, a veteran who was inspired to return to Vietnam to help build housing there. Each vivid story in this book carries its own lesson and epiphany – to help readers find their own better angels.

The book begins with an inspirational foreword by Jimmy Carter.

Since 1976, Habitat for Humanity has helped more than five million people in over seventy countries. More than two million people volunteer every year with Habitat.

Commentaires
Blanchefle Morneau
Enfin, je reçois cet ebook, merci pour tous ces miracles de Noël que je peux obtenir maintenant!
Émilie Aucoin
Mes amis sont tellement fous qu’ils ne savent pas comment j’ai tous les ebook de haute qualité qu’ils n’ont pas!
Gradasso Martel
Leur Miracle de Noel était le meilleur livre que j’ai jamais acheter. Leur Miracle de Noel a fait exactement ce que tu as dit qu’il faisait.
Alphonse Ratté
Je tiens à vous remercier personnellement pour vos livres exceptionnels. C’est vraiment merveilleux.
Andrée Bédard
Je vous recommanderai à mes collègues. Leur miracle de Noël est les livres les plus précieux que nous ayons jamais achetés. Je serais perdu sans ça. Je suis complète ment époustouflé.
Livres Similaires
Paris Never Leaves You

Paris Never Leaves You

By Ellen Feldman
The Last Resort

The Last Resort

By Marissa Stapley
One Night Gone

One Night Gone

By Tara Laskowski