Burning Island

Burning Island

Author: Suzanne Goldring

Format: Kindle Edition

Pages: 360

Publisher: Bookouture

Release Date: January 22, 2020

Description du Livre

They were not her children. But she would protect them with her life…

Corfu 1943. Though they don’t know it, five-year-old Matilde and three-year-old Anna have kissed their mother for the last time. The Nazis have reached their sun-scorched home, and they are being taken to a place of safety, on the north-eastern tip of the rocky island, to be hidden at great risk by kindly Agata and her husband until the terrible war is over.

Matilde and Anna’s tears are soothed by Agata’s bedtime stories, but she is always alert. So far no soldiers have ventured down the steep rocky hillside to their secret haven, but Agata knows they are constantly scouring the island for missing Jews. And then, on a day when Agata’s husband is away, a German soldier appears…

2016. Under a baking June sun, Amber and her husband arrive in Corfu from England, hoping for a fresh start. But not everyone is pleased by their arrival, and with the pressures of pregnancy, the couple grow further apart. Desperate to find a sense of belonging for herself and her unborn child, Amber finds herself drawn to the local story of two little girls, left by their parents and hidden for their own protection.

But there are some who would rather Amber left Corfu’s terrible history well in the past. Can Amber uncover the heart-breaking truth about the two little girls, and what happened after a German soldier took a swim in the bay by their house? If she does, can the secrets of the past help her find happiness, or send her running from the island, alone?

A gripping, heart-wrenching and compelling read about the shadows at the heart of the sun-drenched island of Corfu and survival against all odds. Fans of Victoria Hislop, The Nightingale and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with Burning Island.

Readers are hooked on Burning Island:

‘Two tragic stories, both equally well told. I couldn't put the book down. The book will keep you reading until the end. It is exciting and tragic at the same time. It will keep you on the edge of your seat waiting to find out what happens next. This is one book you will not want to miss. I recommend it.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Told in two different time periods, this is a story that will leave you in tears, as humanity is exposed at its very worst, but also its very best’ Cayo Costa, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I really enjoyed this book. I found the juxtaposition between the two story lines very interesting and captivating… Both storylines cross in a beautiful and unexpected way, drawing Amber, Anna, and Matilde closer and giving them an even deeper appreciation for their lives.’ Goodreads Reviewer

Readers are hooked on Suzanne Goldring:

‘It made me cry at so many points... It left me completely hooked and towards the end I just couldn’t put the book down!’ Stardust Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I could not put this book down, and heaven help anyone that tried to disturb my reading!! I absolutely loved this book! I laughed, I cried, I cheered... what a fantastic read.

Commentaires
Émilie Aucoin
Mes amis sont tellement fous qu’ils ne savent pas comment j’ai tous les ebook de haute qualité qu’ils n’ont pas!
Alphonse Ratté
Je tiens à vous remercier personnellement pour vos livres exceptionnels. C’est vraiment merveilleux.
Blanchefle Morneau
Enfin, je reçois cet ebook, merci pour tous ces miracles de Noël que je peux obtenir maintenant!
Gradasso Martel
Leur Miracle de Noel était le meilleur livre que j’ai jamais acheter. Leur Miracle de Noel a fait exactement ce que tu as dit qu’il faisait.
Andrée Bédard
Je vous recommanderai à mes collègues. Leur miracle de Noël est les livres les plus précieux que nous ayons jamais achetés. Je serais perdu sans ça. Je suis complète ment époustouflé.
Livres Similaires